Login or Register

NFO File

For Jennifer Donnelly - These Shallow Graves (Unabr - 1164k [Bubbs 2015]) 410.36 MB

General Information
===================
 Title:                  These Shallow Graves
 Author:                 Jennifer Donnelly
 Read By:                Kim Bubbs
 Copyright:              2015
 Audiobook Copyright:    2015
 Genre:                  Young Adult - Fiction - Historical - Mystery
 Abridged:               No

Original Media Information
==========================
 Media:                  Digital
 Length each:            Original CD lengths
 Source:                 Overdrive MP3

File Information
================
 Number of MP3s:         11
 Total Duration:         13:32:20
 Total MP3 Size:         372.26
 Parity Archive:         No
 Ripped By:              3j
 Encoded With:           LAME
 Encoded At:             CBR 64 kbit/s 44100 Hz Joint Stereo
 Normalize:              None
 Noise Reduction:        None
 ID3 Tags:               Set, v1.1, v2.3

Book Description
================
Publisher's Summary

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times best-selling 
author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark 
secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love 
and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow 
Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and 
lose in order to find the truth.

Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon - like all the girls in 
her class - she'll graduate from finishing school and be married off 
to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams 
of becoming a writer - a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie 
Bly.

Wild aspirations aside, Jo's life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: 
Her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning 
his pistol. One of New York City's wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper 
and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far 
too smart to clean a loaded gun.

The more Jo hears about her father's death, the more something feels 
wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people 
have started talking, but Jo's father would never have resorted to that. 
And then she meets Eddie - a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter 
at her father's newspaper - and it becomes all too clear how much she 
stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might 
be too late to stop.

The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort 
could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part 
of all.

⌐2015 Jennifer Donnelly (P)2015 Listening Library


What the Critics Say

"Fast-paced and thrilling...a smart, insightful, timely depiction of 
a young woman poised on the brink of a new world after the shattering 
of another." (Booklist)

"Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery...[and] the injustices 
Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant." (Publishers Weekly)

"A beautifully written mystery." (School Library Journal)